British Hairdressing Awards

26 Jul 2017

Written by Alice Smithson

Hairdressers Journal’s British Hairdressing Awards, sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional are back for 2017 and the hopeful finalists have been announced. This iconic photographic competition is open to hairdressing professionals nationwide, in which they are invited to showcase their creative and technical ability.


Judged anonymously and independently by industry peers, each finalist will now submit a further four images to create a collection of eight which is judged in its entirety, before the winners of all sixteen categories are announced on 27th November at London’s Grosvenor House.


We are delighted that lots of our fantastic iSalon clients have made it onto the shortlist;

Isobel Eaton, Russell Eaton for North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year

Daniel Couch and Ashleigh Maybank, Russell Eaton, for North Western Hairdresser of the Year

Julian Dalrymple, The Sitting Room Hairdressing, for Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year

Colin McAndrew, Medusa, for Scottish Hairdresser of the Year

Ryan Humpage, RUSH Hair and David Baker and Ben Hendry, The Vault, for Southern Hairdresser of the Year

Craig Chapman, Craig Chapman Hair Design for Wales and South West Hairdresser of the Year

RUSH Hair, Croydon and Russell Eaton for Artistic Team of the Year

Anne Veck, Anne Veck Salons, Emmanuel Esteban, Anne Veck Salons, and Seung Ki Baek, RUSH Hair for Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year

Sophie Chandler, RUSH Hair and Michael Rackett, RUSH Hair for Newcomer of the Year

Robert Eaton, Russell Eaton for Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year


A huge congratulations to all of the finalists who have been recognised for these prestigious awards.

For further information on HJ’s 2017 British Hairdressing Awards please visit