HJ’s British Hairdressing Awards 2018

30 Nov 2018

Written by Alice Smithson

The biggest names in the hairdressing industry gathered in central London last night to celebrate HJ’s British Hairdressing Awards 2018, sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional. The ceremony recognises the abundance of talent that keeps the UK at the forefront of the hairdressing world each year.

HJ’s executive director Jayne Lewis-Orr welcomed guests alongside Schwarzkopf Professional’s outgoing general manager Stuart Hamid to London’s Grosvenor House Hotel. Jayne said: “Those lucky enough to pick up an award tonight represent all that is great about British hairdressing and this event is all about the finalists and nominees here this evening so I would like to add my congratulations to them all.”

Morning TV favourite Rylan hosted the evening with his charm and wit and was a huge hit with the 2000 hairdressers who descended onto London’s Grosvenor House. For the second year running, longstanding sponsor Schwarzkopf Professional showcased its latest Young Artistic Team collection, directed by Tyler Johnston, which was a complete hit with the crowd. Noughties rock band Scouting for Girls got the crowd on their feet while performing their hits ‘She’s So Lovely’ and ‘This Ain’t a Love Song’.

Then came the awards…


Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
Mary Geoghegan and Jessica Neil, KH Hair

London Hairdresser of the Year
Philipp Haug, Toni & Guy – Sloan Square

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year
Nicola Smyth, Nicola Smyth Award Winning Hair

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
Isobel Eaton and Jesse Jackson, Russell Eaton

North Western Hairdresser of the Year
Marcello Moccia and Karen Perry, Room97 Creative

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year
Damien Johnston, Pure Hair

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year
Karen Thomson, KAM Hair & Body Spa

Southern Hairdresser of the Year
Robert Masciave, Metropolis Hairdressing

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year
Steven Smart, Smartest 73

Here are the best specialist hairdressers of 2018:


Afro Hairdresser of the Year
Michelle Thompson, Francesco Group – Birmingham

Artistic Team of the Year
Marc Antoni Art Team, Marc Antoni

Avant-Garde Hairdresser of the Year
Sylvestre Finold, Toni & Guy – Wimbledon

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year
Desmond Murray, Atherton Cox

Newcomer of the Year
Gianluca Caruso, Toni & Guy – North Audley Street, London

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year
Robert Eaton, Russell Eaton

British Hairdresser of the Year – Sally Brooks