Fellowship Luncheon

07 Dec 2018

Written by Alice Smithson

They say that the Fellowship for British Hairdressing Luncheon and Awards is the unofficial christmas party for the hairdressing industry and they are not wrong – it officially marks the beginning of the festivities for hairdressers and salon owners alike.


The event, which is held every year within The Dorchester situated on London’s prestigious Park Lane, honours members of the British hairdressing industry and celebrates the tireless work of The Fellowship For British Hairdressing throughout the year.

This year’s event was hosted by Fellowship Chancellor Ken Picton who will be taking on the presidency for 2019 as Karine Jackson’s reign comes to an end in April next year.

Ken was joined on stage for presenting duties by reigning President, Karine Jackson, and Chairman, Simon Shaw. The afternoon is an opportunity to network, celebrate and reflect and also serves to recognise those hairdressers who have gone above and beyond over the last twelve months.

Guests also watched a touching tribute to the late, great Toni Mascolo with a moving memorial from his daughter, and Toni & Guy global Creative Director, Sacha Mascolo-Tarbuck. Wahl founder and Chairman, Brian Hollands was also remembered for the support he and his company provided to the Fellowship over the years.

We also learnt those who had made it into the F.A.M.E team for 2019: Alastair Jubbs – VAE Hair, Ashley Cockrell – Percy & Reed, Lora Griffin – Simon Webster, Tania Faenza – TONI&GUY

Then came the awards…

Fellow with Honours: Jo Martin, Chris Williams, Simon Tuckwell, Peter Belcher, Rick Roberts, Nick Irwin

Fellow with Distinction: Debbie Gee

Salutation Award: Estetica Magazine, Salon NV and Barber NV, Good Salon Guide, The Salon, Respect, Hair, Salon Business, Concept Hair, Professional Hairdresser, Hairdressers Journal,

Roll of Recognition: Stacey Irwin, Rachael Gibson, Alphonso Grose, Mary Banasik,

Sassoon Scholarship: Tanahya Nash

Christofer Mann Step Up & Shine Scholarship: Nicola Hamm

Colour Project Achiever of the Year: Natalie Newton

Project X Student of the Year: Marlene Lamont

Individual Salon of the Year: Melissa Timperley

Salon Group of the Year: Medusa

Unsung Hero: Jon Chapman

Charity Award: Marc Antoni salons

Member of the Year: Victor Pajak

Image of the Year: Robert Masciave

Patron’s Award: Angelo Seminara

Lifetime Achievement: Russell Eaton

Fellowship Hairdresser of the Year: Tina Farey