30 Jul 2020

Written by studio

On Monday 25th November, the annual and coveted Hairdressers Journal British Hairdressing Awards were held where the best and biggest names in hairdressing gathered to celebrate.

The star-studded event was hosted by Rylan Neal-Clark who guided guests through the evening with charisma and charm. Music was provided by The Hoosiers with their hits Goodbye Mr A and Something About Ray wowing the crowd.

The ceremony recognises the abundance of talent that keeps the UK at the forefront of the hairdressing world each year.

HJ’s Executive Director Jayne Lewis-Orr, welcomed guests to London’s Grosvenor House Hotel. Jayne said: “To enter and achieve finalist status in these awards requires determination, commitment and skill in order to produce these beautiful images that will set the trends and be revered the world over.”

She continued: “And it also takes bravery – to put your work in front of the most talented and creative judges who spend hours over two separate days to deliberate over the anonymous images independently.”

Then came the awards…

The most prestigious award of the night, British Hairdresser of the Year, was awarded to first-time nominee, Robert Eaton.

On collecting his award, Robert thanked his hairdressing team, Wella Professionals and his dad who inspired him with a book by Trevor Sorbie when he was growing up.

The Hall of Fame had three new entries this year – Robert Eaton, Marcello Moccia and Michelle Thompson.

Here are the British Hairdressing Award winners of 2019:


Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
Nathan Jasztal & Zoe Jasztal, Silhouette Du Barry

London Hairdresser of the Year
Andy Heasman, RUSH

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year
James Earnshaw, Bad Apple Hair

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
Alexander Turnbull, Alexander Hair and Beauty

North Western Hairdresser of the Year
Jon Wilsdon, TONI&GUY Deansgate

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year
Sharon Malcolm, Sharon Malcolm Hairdressing

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year
Jason Hall, Jason Hall Hairdressing

Southern Hairdresser of the Year
Andrew Smith, Andrew Smith Salons

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year
Martin Crean, Mode Martin Crean

International Collection of the Year
Jacky Chan, Oscar Oscar Chadstone, Melbourne, Australia


Trend Image of the Year
Federico Patelli, TONI&GUY Victoria

Afro Hairdresser of the Year
Rick Roberts, Rick Roberts

Artistic Team of the Year
Mark Leeson

Avant-Garde Hairdresser of the Year
Sophie Springett & Hayley Bishop, TONI&GUY North Audley Street

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year
Jim Shaw & Daisy Carter, Essensuals Billericay

Newcomer of the Year
Alex Morton, Jamie Stevens Kensington Salon

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year
Sophie Gibson & Jonathan Turner, Hooker & Young


Congratulations to all winners from the iSalon team!