British Hairdressing Awards

30 Nov 2017

Written by Alice Smithson

One of the biggest events of the hairdressing calendar took place on Monday evening at the Grosvenor House Hotel, a J W Marriott Hotel, on London’s Park Lane … the British Hairdressing Awards!

The star-studded ceremony was hosted by Cat Deeley, alongside HJ’s executive director, Jayne Lewis-Orr. More than 1,500 of the top hairdressing talent from across the country attended the awards, which is a celebration of the most creative and technically-gifted hairstylists in Britain.

There are 16 categories in total; nine regional and six specialist awards and, the ultimate accolade, British Hairdresser of the Year. The Artistic Team of the Year award celebrates the strength and beauty that comes from a united, collaborative team with a shared vision and diverse skills.

Each entrant must submit a series of images demonstrating not only their technical dexterity, but their creative vision and comprehension of current trends. Looks must be wearable and beautiful, as well as pushing the boundaries and limitations of hairdressing to showcase the pinnacle of a hairstylist’s creativity. Finalists are then judged, twice, by a panel consisting of hairdressing legends, leading national beauty press and past winners of the awards who have since joined the British Hairdressing Awards Hall of Fame; an accolade presented to those who win the same category on more than three occasions.

A huge congratulations to all the winners, an outstanding achievement and over all a fantastic event!

British Hairdresser of the Year – Sally Brooks, Brooks & Brooks, London

Afro Hairdresser of the Year – Charlotte Mensah, Hair Lounge, London

Artistic Team of the Year – RUSH Hair, London

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year – Emmanuel Esteban, Anne Veck Salons, Oxford

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year – Robert Eaton, Russell Eaton, Leeds

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year – Terri Kay and Andrea Giles, Mark Leeson, Mansfield

Newcomer of the Year –  Olivia Nevill, Ashley Gamble, Shifnal

Eastern Hairdresser of the Year – Joseph I’Anson and Lisa Graham, Mark Leeson, Mansfield

London Hairdresser of the Year -Indira Schauwecker, TONI&GUY Bedford Street, London

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year – Shaun Hall, Mark Leeson, Chesterfield

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year –  Isobel Eaton, Russell Eaton, Barnsley

North Western Hairdresser of the Year – Daniel Couch and Ashleigh Maybank, Russell Eaton, Leeds

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year – Julie Cherry and Colette Fitzpatrick, Shane Bennett Salon, Lisburn

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year –  Suzie McGill & Dylan Brittain, Rainbow Room International, Glasgow

Southern Hairdresser of the Year –  Thomas Hills, TH1 Hair, Oxted

Wales and South West Hairdresser of the Year: Zoe Williams & Scott Evans, Ken Picton Salon, Cardiff